OK so I’ve now lived with BT Vision for a month or so and have to say I’m very happy. OK it hasn’t been without it’s troubles but they are minor compared to my last few months with Sky!

My problems started with Sky in two ways:

1. A gradual reduction in picture quality – the wonderful customer services (technical – that’s an extra 20 minute wait over and above the normal 30 minutes!!) advised me that 1) I needed to move to HD??? 2) It was because I now had so many more channels to pick from therefore bandwidth was compressed ‘a little’ 3) HD was causing us poorer cousins some form of knock on 4) Global warming was causing the weather shifts which ‘hurt’ the signals!!! The reality I discovered was the rather large protected Oak tree just off my property slowly sapping the signal.

2. After the ‘Anytime’ update to my box I started to suffer random re-boots, programs just not bothering to record. Advice here was it was most likely an old box – this of course was not the case as the box is only (sorry) was only 8 months old at that point.

The final thing that just put paid to Sky for me was the loss of both daughters to the big wide world and the need for movie channels, music, and American sludge operas evaporated. My needs were simple – the ability to be able to record stuff as I’d done with my Sky + box – in particular series linking and someway of getting films I wanted and programs I wanted not necessarily on now.

To my rescue came BT Vision….now I do have a little insider view of this as a couple of my work pals worked on the project with Microsoft so I knew what to expect. I have to say my expectations were unfounded it is great!!!

Now as I said at the start I have had a few hiccups and  am aware that at peak viewing times when there is bugger all on the normal channels ‘On Demand’ can be a little sluggish but once there it’s great.

I wait with baited breathe for the BT Vision Sport….but more of this in my next post.

